Work Experience in SOP

Hi all, I am currently a forensic scientist looking to go back to school for my Phd in Chemistry. I found a great program, that, honestly I wish I had heard about it sooner or I would of applied straight after my undergrad. But, in life things happen for reasons. After being in the field a year already my drive to continue my education has increased tremendously partly because of some mentors, partly because of the current trends and partly due to my own ambitions and what I want out of my career, not that I've been in it day in and day out. 

I have a summer research experience in organic chemistry (I enjoyed it a lot, but left due to me getting my current position) and have identified a PI who's research actually sounds like something I want to be part of. 

My question is, how do I word work experience into the SOP? After going through the threads, I've seen it could either benefit you are be a detriment. What's the best way to go about it so it makes the admissions committee see your potential. Thanks ya'll!

My question is, how do I word work experience into the SOP? After going through the threads, I've seen it could either benefit you are be a detriment. What's the best way to go about it so it makes the admissions committee see your potential. Thanks ya'll!