Help an international student please

drasthabhatia

Hi,

I am an international student who is going to complete her MPH from Missouri state University in Spring 2010. I need to start applying for my PHD in public health(any concentration) where I can get funding, preferably in the East schools. I have an undergrad GPA of 3.84, GRE score of 1480/1600 and grad GPA of 3.5(till now). Can you let me know a few schools where I have a chance of getting accepted with these credentials? Also, funding is a major issue for me. Please help!

Grrr - I just typed a long post and it got lost in the system.

Your numbers (GRE and GPA) are fine. Because you're fully in the acceptable range, admissions decisions will come down to a fit with the expertise available in a department, and possibly what your letter writers have to say. You need to be able to show an admissions committee a genuine interest in doing research on a specific area. If you really don't mind which concentration of public health then I would imagine you'll have a hard time convincing an admissions committee that you're serious.

Once you know what you want to study, your list of schools narrows considerably.Information about the availability of funding for interantional students is readily available on most schools' websites, and is easy to get by contacting schools if it is not online.

I don't really know much about epi applications. It wouldn't surprise me if it's the most competitve of the public health fields though. There might be more money around than in other fields - if you can stomach it, drug companies might be an alternative source of funding to the NIH, through which we internationals can't be funded.