PhD and GPA in Master's Program

Hello all,

I am new here so I have a lot of reading to do. I am glad this community exists.

I did not see my question here using a search, but I am certain someone has posted something similar.

I am looking into PhD programs in Lit, Rhet and Comp, or Linguistics. I have the background for all three. My undergrad was a GPA was a 3.83 - however . . .(sound the booming music) I ended up with a 3.27 . . .can I round that up to 3.3 for you GPA when I graduated from my Master's Program. For those of you who are reading this as undergrads and who may not know, pretty much anything below a 3.5 is terrible.

I realize when I apply that there are more factors than my GPA that will affect my chances of acceptance. There are people who have great GPA's and get rejected.

I mentioned the fact that I have a low GPA to the Director of one of the Graduate programs I am considering applying and I was told that I should tackle it head on rather than avoid it.

My question to all of you is - how do I mention this in the application? What approach would you or would you not take and why were you in my situation? (Keep in mind I have been out of school since '02 really. So, I will have to retake my GRE's and come up with some scholarship samples that are new.

So - what would head on tackling be to you?

PS Don't be too harsh, I'm fragile here.

PPS Don't believe that PS above, I am okay. Just not happy one bad semester/period in my life is causing me so much strife.

If one semester made a big difference, be forthright. "You'll note a sharp drop in my performance in Spring of 1912. This is because my dog committed suicide."

Obviously you'll want to tell a plausible -- and preferably true -- story, but you get the point. Address it and move on with confidence.

If one semester made a big difference, be forthright. "You'll note a sharp drop in my performance in Spring of 1912. This is because my dog committed suicide."