Classicist moves to Religion

Cardea

I'm currently applying to Duke (MTS) and Yale (MAR in Bible) Divinity Schools. I applied to Candler in the spring and was accepted with a 75% scholarship but deferred.

My background is in philology. Here are my stats:

-Undergraduate: BA (cum magna) in Greek and Roman Studies at Rhodes College (small liberal arts college), 3.7 overall, 3.9 major

-Graduate : MA Classics (just began second year), University of Illinois, 3.12 GPA (currently)

-one year as TA, head TA this semester, Latin 101 TA in the spring

-no pubs and I've been in language coursework (and studying for exams) so not much research either

-Good recs

My interests are in New Testament but I'm also interested in Early Christianity, but not super late. I'd like to do some bridge work between NT and Early Christianity, looking at perhaps history of interpretation. I'm therefore in this liminal position of a traditional NT program and an Early Christianity program. My question is therefore two-fold:

1. What are my chances of getting in with funding into Yale or Duke? My primary concern is my current GPA which is not all that great, as well as the fact that I've not done much research.

2. Would it be better to do NT at the MA level first, and then perhaps segway into Early Christianity, or perhaps apply to a Ph.D. program (given my langauge background) in Early Christianity and just do NT stuff on the side? I know this depends a lot on the program. I could always do both of course but I currently have a lot on my plate.

I hope this all makes sense!!

Thanks.

Hi Cardea,