HKS, SAIS, GTown, Fletcher: GRE: Q:760 V: 590

chaz0684

I am planning on applying to SAIS, HKS, Fletcher and GTown MSFS for next fall (2010).

I just took the GRE today and got a 1350 (Q: 760, V: 590). I'm a little disappointed as my verbal I was consistently scoring in the high 600's.

I had a decent GPA (3.4) from Tufts University where I majored in IR and Political Science.

I'm pretty sure I'm going to get some really good recommendations.

The things that are holding me back is that I did not do well in my introductory Econ classes (a B- and a C+) but did do well in the one upper level econ class I did take (A-). I know for SAIS and GTown I would need to retake Econ before the year started, but I wanted to show that I was strong through my GRE to overcome my low econ grades...

I've been out of school three years, last two years working as a consultant in government. Speak two dialects of Chinese, studied abroad, am a minority.

Is it worth retaking the GRE?

Sounds pretty competitive for Fletcher. Can't speak too much to SAIS or GTown, but HKS might -- just might -- be turned off by the low V score.

What have you been doing for the government these past couple of years?

Out of curiosity: are you Chinese? I'm trying to piece together the "two dialects of Chinese" bit and how impressive the AdComm would find that.

I am ethnically Chinese but born in the states. I am a native speaker of Cantonese and became fluent in Mandarin during college. I don't know if that makes it any less or more impressive :P

I decided yesterday to retake the test. I read the forums and someone wrote if you are going to invest $100,000 in school might as well be willing to invest another $150 if you know you can do better. That seemed to make a lot of sense to me.