Masters in international development or internship + learning language in Asia?

Is it better to study a master's in international development/migration studies or actually spend a year in the country I am interested in learning the local language and interning with UN offices/NGOs in the country?

I have a master's in a humanities subject not related to international development, but want to move into this area. I am thinking of doing a master's in this area, but I have had friends tell me it is better to gain experience in the country (in this case it's a developing country in Asia) and learn the local language than studying a master's. I am short on finances at the moment, and it's a lot cheaper for me to spend a year in Asia studying and interning unpaid (I have friends there) than spending my savings on a fancy master's in international development and/or migration studies.

My long term goal is to work in the non-profit sector in Asia, focusing on women and children's rights and refugee rights.

Edited by polome

You can set yourself up with a great career in a country if you begin with just an internship and work hard to learn the language. In particular, you will have great ease finding work at community based organizations. There are thousands of great organizations around the world that need help, both specialized and not. Over time, you can gain experiences that connect to higher positions and follow a similar career path to those getting a masters.

That said, many major organizations such as the UN, Red Cross, etc, require specialized masters degrees plus X years of experience. So for some, a masters is important. A lot of this can be replaced with work experience, but you must question if you will find enough internships and work afterwards to compete on that level.