Professional Masters -- Help or Harm to PhD Application?

john29

Greetings!

To make my life story as short as possible, I graduated from a small liberal arts college with a degree in Political Science.  My overall GPA was 3.76, with major GPA of 3.92.  I had okay GRE scores (verbal/quant) and a relatively high writing score (5.5).  All of my professors in the department thought I should go into a PhD program, and I've long thought about the academic route.  That said, reading about the academic job market put me off some.  I fear the diminishing returns that come with getting a PhD from programs down the "ranking" list, as the placement stats seem to fall off steeply after you get outside the top 25 programs.