PhD in geology (mining) ?

JrCaspian

Hello everyone,

It's been a while since I have been graduated in geology. I was unsuccessful for many jobs I applied for (mining or oil & gas indistries) for more than 1 year now. Even in the academic field, it's not easy to get a position considering I got many interviews also. However, it seems I've really good chances to be accepted for a PhD in mining (geomodeling/statistics).

Considering the market is not really good today for geologists in the mining industry, do you think it is worth making a PhD and loose 3 years without any conviction to get a job after being graduated ?

Thank you in advance for replying.

Jcasp.

I'm doing my masters in mining geomechanics from a mining school right now. Here's my take on this issue. I'm EXTREMELY disillusioned by the quality of PhDs being churned out by even the top mining schools in geology/geomechanics. The 'best' quality of research comes from Aus/US/Canada and even that isn't anywhere close to the research being carried out by geologists in the petroleum/geosciences sectors. Most research in mining geology is qualitative and empirical (extremely site specific). Currently, there's a bad case of replacing apples with oranges for PhD dissertations to show 'new' work ("Oh look, XYZ software/model worked for sandstone. Why don't we hire a PhD student and do the exact same thing using ABC software instead and have a student graduate? They will have enough work to do because they'll have to run 300 simulations beofre they can graduate."). If your end objective is a job, you are better off with a masters and maybe an EIT/PE. You can easily land one in a consulting company or a mining company. Quite a few PhDs (recent graduates) that I know of are struggling to find jobs since they are being kicked out of interviews for being overqualified in technical areas and not sufficiently in 'leadership'. Mining companies/consultants want someone they can mould to suit their needs and a candidate