Question about my area of interest

So, here's a little background on me.  I'm a non-traditional student.  I went back to school later in life, and at 35, I'll be graduating in December.  I hate that I waited this long to finish something I should have finished ages ago, but here I am.  In the meantime, I racked up plenty of life experiences that I hope have prepared me for graduate school, if that is the route I take.  I'll have a BA in English with a minor in philosophy from a decent state university.  I have a 3.9 GPA.  I'm also in the English honor society and was able to present twice at the conference last March.

I have a friend in an Ivy League PhD program and who works in higher education already.  He is really encouraging me to shoot for graduate school because he thinks I can do it, but I'm afraid.  I'm afraid of putting all this work into something that will possibly or likely provide no payoff in the end.  For instance, my friend thinks I should go; but he has suggested that my area of interest may not get me anywhere and that I might need to rethink it.  But if I can't study what I love, then why bother?