Transferring vs. Withdrawing

This may seem a little off the wall but - I am in my first semester of my PhD program at a fairly well respected midwest university. However, I'm finding that not only are professors here very difficult to approach - that is if you can track them down to begin with - and very unwilling to answer questions or even just discuss research options or point me in the right direction in terms books to read, other profs to talk to etc.

My adviser in particular has been nearly impossible to deal with, on several occasions implying that I do not deserve to be in the program and that I am wasting her time. In addition, I was promised teaching experience by the graduate director and yet was assigned as an RA to a prof who's research is nowhere near anything my research focuses on (I focus on product placement, new media and new marketing techniques as they affect the industry - ie writers and producers of television shows) and as a TA to a teacher who didn't need a TA.

I have spent several years working in the television industry both in my hometown and in Los Angeles and thus I bring with me a perspective on research and study that is industry-focused. I feel I got an excellent education when I did my MA and I have a very strong theoretical background, but my plain English style of writing and thinking seems to be looked down upon here and in turn, so am I. I realize that it is only my first semester, but it has become nearly unbearable.