Bombed the GRE and Devastated

IheartClinicalPsych

I took the GRE for the first time yesterday (and what I thought would be the only time) and I basically failed it. I studied a pretty decent amount, knew almost all of the vocababulary, but I ended up getting 430 on Q and 400 on V. I was so shocked because in practice tests I was getting about 500 Q and 600 V. I am so sad. When I saw those awful scores I just about started crying on the spot.

My 5 year plan of getting a PhD in Clinical Psyh nearly diminished right at that moment.

I will admit that I am not good at math, and despite practice, I sitll cannot perform well on the test due to time and I also panic and forget what to do.

However, I thought I was doing great on the verbal section. I really felt like I was going to get around a 700. But I was completely wrong.

I have decided that I need to take it again. So I will be re-taking it in about a month.

Sorry, I just needed to vent.

I want to get my PhD and becmome a clinician so bad. I just am so worried now that I won't get accepted.

Hi

I am in your position as well. It is horrible. I studied a pretty decent amount all summer, but was still not getting a lot of the math sections. I was pre-testing in the 600s though. I went in and got a 600 on the V (I thought I would get at least a 650) and a 410 on quant! Horrible truly horrible. I am so afraid that I won't be able to get the score up and my chances of getting my doctorate will be dashed.

I am working through the GRE Math Bible now and plan to retake at the end of November. I just feel like crap.

I'm sorry this happened to you. I am taking my GRE for the first time in a few weeks, and pretty scared too. But don't let this get you down. Your GRE is probably the least important part of your application, honestly. Re-take it.( Make sure you spend extra time on the first few questions of each section.) And ACE your writing sample and SOP. Those are way more important than some silly standardized test.