Withdrawing from course

I'm currently a PhD student and I am enrolled in a summer class.  The problem is that on the first day, I realized that I won't have time to meet other obligations (research/teaching) while taking the class.  Also the class goes over advanced material that I'm currently not prepared for but with time I can easily handle.  It's just right now there's a lot on my plate. 

So I'm wondering what are the repercussions of withdrawing from the course and having a W on my transcript, preserved forever in my student record.  Is it really bad in terms of graduating from grad school? How do fellowship application comittees or employers look at a W?  What are the adverse consequences?  Need a decision, soon, only have until 7/8 to make final decision but would like to hear the bad things that might happen even if responses come late.  Thanks!

Two things: 

1. Really?? If you leave the course on day 1, you have to take a W? At my institution, you don't get a W on your transcript unless it's been 2 weeks since the class started, even for shorter summer courses. I have often dropped courses within the first week, and never saw anything on my transcript from that. Just make sure you've read your school's policies closely, because you might be stressing about a non-issue. 

2. I have 2 W's on my transcript, but it's from my undergrad years. Nonetheless, no one has ever brought up these grades to me at all, and I have a fancy shmancy internal fellowship. I can't speak to what would happen if you applied for external funding with a W from your grad school career, but it doesn't seem like it should be a kiss of death on any applications. 

Two things: