Working full time while getting Masters

allaphoristic

So, I am not sure how unique of a situation I'm in, but I thought I'd see if anyone had similar experience.

This fall, I will be beginning my Masters in Early Childhood Education. Instead of student teaching, my program requires that all students work full time in the (elementary) classroom while taking classes in the evening (two nights a week for 5 hours each evening). I will be working as an assistant third grade teacher. Obviously this is a great opportunity because I have a salary and benefits (no loans for grad school) and I can directly apply what I am learning to my job, but I'm still a little panicky. 

I think that the main reason that this seems overwhelming to me is that I am just graduating undergrad (in two weeks, yay!). I've been working part time for the last four years, but that's not quite the same. I begin my assistant teaching job the day after I finish undergrad classes. I begin my M.A.T. a month after that. It's all really fast.

Anyway, has anyone done something similar? How did you balance working 40 hours a week + classes + not completely isolating yourself in a cocoon of work? 

Thanks!

Edited by allaphoristic

Hi Decaf,

It's totally doable but it does take a little while to get adjusted to your new schedule.  For me the biggest struggle was finding enough time to sleep and forcing myself to plan out meals ahead of time so that I wouldn't be skipping meals or eating a ton of fast food on the run (and making my body feel worse).

I'm not familiar with your program but it sounds like your studies and your work assignment will be very closely related.  That is a tremendous help and I think will help you stay encouraged and remain focused even during busy and stressful times.  I know that in my situation my work responsibilities and coursework really complement each other and I find that to be a big help!