PhD application suggestions

Drewling

Hello,
I will start this topic by saying that my situation is kind of peculiar. I am an Italian-American MA student who was born and raised in Italy but bilingual. I am 24 and I already have one year of experience as a full-time English teacher in a private language school and three months as an Italian intern teacher in Miami. My undergrad GPA in foreign languages (English and Polish) should be something like 3.0 or 3.2 max while my MA will be more or less the same I think. I already have a GRE score (303) and a TOEFL score (101). I had to take the TOEFL mainly because, even though my family is American and my ancestors for three generations helped build the country, I am not recognized as an American due to bureaucratic reasons (lol).
I am therefore an international student and this lowers my chances of acceptance by a lot. I am here to ask you if, according to my working experience, education and situation, I could be a valid candidate for a PhD job in any university. I want to apply to NYU, Stony Brook, Amherst and Kansas university. My main passion is sociolinguistics but I could accept a position for phonetics and phonology. Or honestly any position lol.
Should I mention my situation in the letters of intent?
Should I try instead to go for one of those MA + PhD programs?
Can the fact that I have studied different languages help? [French (even though I forgot most of it), Polish (Basic level), Spanish (Medium maybe)]
Thanks and have a nice day.

Edited by Drewling