Depressed Speech Undergrad.. Are there any other options? :(

Renci

Hello everyone, I hope you're having a good day.

Before I rant, this is my first post and I have read a few forum posts similar to this and read some great feedback & advice from people on this forum. Everyone is so helpful.

I am 26 year-old male and have a Bachelor's in Speech Therapy, but cannot get into grad school and many know you can't do much with just a Speech Bachelors.. I have been working as a tutor and Special Education assistant, and volunteering at a hospital to gain more experience, but it still not enough for grad school..

Does anyone know any other possible routes I can go to? Is it possible to go into another Master's program with just a Speech Bachelors?

Here is my background -

I graduated with a Speech Bachelor in 2012, and tried applying two times already (almost 3 as I asked for letters, but personal problems arose and could not apply), but have been rejected every time.

My overall GPA was a 3.5, my unfortunately my past 60 units were about a 3.15 and GRE score around the 30 percentile, but worked as a tutor and volunteered at speech office. I started up getting a job as a Special Ed assistant so I can learn more about disorders, but have come to a stop in life. I also have to spend a lot of time taking care of my mom as she is disabled as well..

It has gotten me to the point where I feel like I have just failed because it has been 3 years since I've graduated.. and feel like I won't be able to become financially stable in the near future with the situation I am in. Can someone please give me any advice? please and thank you so much..

• 2 weeks later...

Hi Renci,