Gre for application

elif

Hello guys,

I am a seniour student in Turkey. I did voluntary training at lombardi cancer center. I did a lot of stuff there. I have very good CV and my gpa:3,75.

But ı have an problem with verbal part of gre. Is it important for significant university such as mit? I will apply cancer biology, so if ı show my ıelts result , they will give importance again my verbal score?

If ı do good score  for quantitive part rather than verbal part, is it enough?

thank you for help

Hi Elif,

Low score in XX, is always a relative term. What are your scores and are you applying to masters or phd? I didnt go to MIT info sessions yet but I just went to Harvard's phd info session. They (of course) said they dont have a strict cut off for GRE but people they have been accepting were in 85th percentile in BOTH verbal and quant sections. Well, that was certainly a bad news for me since my verbal score in only 58th percentile (quant is 97th). I think if you want to be competitive - I would suggest you to be min 75-80th percentile for MIT. I am retaking GRE as a matter of fact. (Please note that most of MIT applicants from outside of US will have excellent quant scores so your application probably won't stand out without a decent verbal section - ofc unless you have amazing published papers etc)

Best.

Arman

I don't know about bio, but MIT says for PhD in CS "EECS will accept either the TOEFL or the *IELTS scores for the English evaluation test. For the TOEFL, we require a score of at least 600 on the paper-based test, 250 for the computer-based test, and 100 for the Internet-based test. We require a minimum score of 7 on the IELTS. We do not use the GRE test scores during the admission process--regardless of citizenship--unless you are applying to the LGO Program, which does require the GRE."