Canadian Grade Conversion to U.S Scale

Monit88

I am in my second year studying Information Technology at York University in Canada. 

I have aspirations to go to the U.S. For grad school in MS Data Sciences/Business Analytics. Thus far,for most universities for they require a 3.5 cGPA for admission and according to their student profile their median has been that thus far  

I currently have a cGPA of 7(B+) out of 9, how would I convert my GPA to match most of US GPA scale which is out of 4.0 for most universities.  

There is no standard way. If the school application requires you to convert to a US GPA for their forms, then you would have to clarify with them because each school might do it differently or would want you to do it differently. However, in my field, almost all schools asked international GPAs to be presented in their original form.

However, if you just want a general comparison, there are two types of "4.0 GPA scales" that I've noticed in the US. For both types, the grade points are awarded as follows:

A = 4.0, A- = 3.7, B+ = 3.3, B = 3.0, B- = 2.7 etc. (A, B, C and D are integers, and +/- are 0.3 grade points)

The difference comes in the treatment of the A+ grade. In a 4.0 scale, if an A+ is considered a standard top grade, like in Canada, then it's often also worth 4.0 grade points in a 4.0 system. However, some schools consider A the standard top grade, but A+ is awarded in special situations as "bonus". In this case, a A+ would be 4.3 even in the 4.0 system as "bonus". This is rare though. There's also the 4.3 GPA system.

Note: You would not simply convert your 7/9 cGPA into a US GPA system. You would have to convert each course's letter grade into a grade point (out of 4.0 or 4.3) and then do a weighted average over all your courses, weighing by the number of credits, in order to compute your 4.0 or 4.3 GPA.

And as you would figure out by now, a 3.5 GPA is basically somewhere between a B+ and A- average.

Thanks for your detailed reply.