SoP Help for Fall 2016 Applicant

Hello,

I am an aspiring PhD applicant looking to apply to English Programs in US and Canada in Fall 2016. I am currently pursuing an M.Phil in English Literature (research degree in between an MA and a PhD) after doing both a BA and an MA in English Lit as well. Right now, I am working on the narratives born out of the national ruptures. Our GPA is measured on a 10 point scale and I have always been at a 9.5-9.75 zone.

I have, over the course of my time in Grad School in India, held several research positions, including a fellowship with the1947 Partition Archive at Berkeley. I took my GRE and TOEFL exams last year and I have good scores. I have over a dozen conference presentations and a few publications as well. However, being an international student, I am led to believe that I am still at a disadvantage.

I am shortlisting schools at the moment, with equal focus on US and Canada (perhaps a tad bit more on Canada since I finished high school in Toronto). My research interests are broadly postcolonial studies, but I am interested in seeing how it interacts with genres of speculative fiction. I have, in particular worked with postcolonialism in crime fiction and science fiction. My M.Phil research has also nuanced my interest in migration studies as well how gender interacts with nation-building and rupture.

All of that being said, I am still having trouble drafting an SoP. Now I understand that I have to tailor it according to the school and its strengths, relate it to faculty members that I have corresponded with etc. In my attempt to form a skeleton for the same, I came up with a structure akin to this:

1. What you want to do (e.g. I want to pursue doctoral studies in uni XYZ)
2. Why you want to do it (because it will help me achieve these particular short and long term goals)