PhD for professionals?

playatpaste

Hi, I'm looking for some feedback, please:

I graduated from a small, respectable liberal arts college with a major in art history and a 3.4 gpa back in 2009.  Since then I've been working in a mid-sized, highly regarded museum, in the Collections department.  I've worked on some spectacular projects there, but it's clear that I've hit a ceiling in terms of responsibility.  I'm now looking into PhD programs with the hopes of becoming a curator or collections manager (most likely).  My interests are broad, though I tend towards 20th century art.  One thing I'm bumping up against right now is that PhD programs seem incredibly competitive.  I'm not interested in being competitive (partly because I have some health issues that make it challenging for me), but I am still craving an intellectual atmosphere.  Are there any programs out there that offer comprehensive training in a smart but somewhat relaxed atmosphere?

Thank you!

If your end goal is curator or collections manager, Instead of a PhD in Art History, what about a following a special collections track in library sciences (MLIS degree)? This would end end with more of a professional degree than an academic one, and would be less competitive to get into.

There is really no such thing as a "relaxed" PhD program. Getting a PhD is by nature stressful. 

On the other hand though, as long as you go to a fully funded program with a nice advisor who does not pit her/his advisees against each other you shouldn't have to worry about things being competitive. 

Are you more interested in being a Curator or a Collection Management professional? What makes you drawn to a PhD versus an MA?