Received My GRE Scores - Advice?

Hopeful One

Greetings everyone!

I'm new to this graduate forum, but I thought I would join early since I plan on going to graduate school. I am currently in my last term as an undergrad and I'm on the edge about my GRE score/applications. I just took the GRE today and scored 145 on the verbal and 146 on the quantitative. I know, these scores aren't good at all! I plan to retake it again. However, there are two schools that I am looking into that have a "competitive range" of scores and also have a "combined" score for the GRE. The competitive scores range from 145-155 in both sections, and 3.5-4.5 on the writing section. While the other school wants a total of 275 on the GRE. I obtained a 289 total. I was wondering if I should even apply to these schools right now? Should I retake the GRE and then apply to all of my desired schools (I have 4 major ones)? I am kind of bummed but the scores were expected. I only prepped for a month due to finishing up summer classes.

What did you do to properly prep for the GRE?

rising_star,

I just feel like a 145 and a 146 are on the lower end and aren't good enough for what's considered the competitive scores. But, I keep trying to remind myself that the GRE is just 1 part of the application. I have other parts to the application that I can still modify to make myself stand out. I guess I'm just worried that my application won't be as good as the others since Occupational Therapy is becoming more and more competitive these days. I'm trying to get involved in undergraduate research for my last term before heading off, so hopefully that will help with my application.