MA? MPP? MBA?

erei82

I'm applying this fall for grad school and, ideally, would like to do political risk consulting for investments in emerging markets. I majored in political science undergrad and have been doing i-banking on cross-border transactions (primarily) in emerging markets for the last 4 years. I'm looking at KSG, Fletcher, SIPA, SAIS, and possibly UChicago. Any suggestions? Georgetown? Any views on MA vs MPP? I've also been looking at joint MBA degree programs.

• 1 month later...

I'm applying this fall for grad school and, ideally, would like to do political risk consulting for investments in emerging markets. I majored in political science undergrad and have been doing i-banking on cross-border transactions (primarily) in emerging markets for the last 4 years. I'm looking at KSG, Fletcher, SIPA, SAIS, and possibly UChicago. Any suggestions? Georgetown? Any views on MA vs MPP? I've also been looking at joint MBA degree programs.

Having come from the policy world into the academic world, I can tell you that it doesn't matter a ton, especially for things like risk management, what kind of degree you have. Good schools are better. Related programs (so when it say, "IR, Sociology, Area studies or closely related fields" on a job listing) are better. But in general, nothing is hard and fast and what people want is a smart person, and the degree is a proof of that smartness not really preparation for the job.