Online postbacc at UGA

Heisenberg9193

Is there anyone on the forum who knows anything about this program? I know UGA has a good MA and so I'm assuming this program would be good too. However, it's fairly new from what I understand and I've never seen any other online postbaccs. It being online really is ideal for me, though,  as I don't wish to relocate. It seems like it could be a good fit but I'd really like some input from others if possible. 

• 1 month later...

Hi Heisenberg.

I've started a Facebook group for the program--it's still under construction, so it isn't very good at this point. But please like it to join and be patient until it is really up and running: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1652717068338675/. I created it to build an online community for the students, prospective students, alumni, faculty, and friends of UGA's online post-bac program. 

As far as your questions go above, I'm a current student and just finished my first class this semester, the Proseminar. Over all, I'm very satisfied with the quality of my experience. Dr. Corrigan is the head prof for the program, and she's been amazing for taking care of the student body (some 4 students this semester). The quality of her products for the class--syllabus, assignment instructions, etc.--is a lot better than most other products I've seen online at other schools where professors take a minimalist approach to drafting a syllabus. Cr. Corrigan really puts good detail into her work, and she challenges us quite well. A typical assignment I had from her required me to build a bibliography of no more than 25 resources on a selected topic using the library's main search engines and databases like l'Annee Philologique, Dyabola, Oxford Bibliographies Online, etc. (I had to do this in the areas of numismatics, archaeology, philology, epigraphy, papyrology, and linguistics.) The screencasts taught us how to use the search tools, and I learned how to use Zotero for my citations. Thank God for Zotero