Questions about Fast-Tracking

LightningZolt

Hey there everyone. Long time lurker, first time poster. I am an undergrad student in my final year, and I am thinking seriously about doing a Fast-Track PhD in Political Science, as the field is something I am very passionate about. In terms of applications, I have already started on many of the necessities of an application to various schools in North America. 

At the same time, I have been contemplating the idea of taking a year off before applying for a number of reasons.

• Though I am doing an undergraduate thesis (60 pages) this year, my research and publication work is limited beyond that, and I would want to use the year to bolster that before applying anywhere. My understanding is there is a huge focus on what type of research work you have done in the past.
    • As a subpoint, I can then use my completed thesis as a writing sample the year after.
  • I may want to pursue more chances at taking the GRE if my scores for an upcoming one are unsatisfactory.
  • Honestly, I would also want some free time before committing myself to a long period of focused education and research.

With all this in mind, I have a few questions that I hope individuals here may be able to answer :D :

1. Would it be possible to do this year off and apply for a Fast-Track program, or is it only open to those who come directly out of an undergraduate program? This is unclear on a lot of the University and Department websites.
  2. Does Fast-Tracking lead to a greater scrutiny of application and its applicant than a traditional PhD program application?
  3. For those with first-hand or second-hand experience, how does one keep in touch with references during a year out of school? I have made many powerful references this year and hope to have them available in the future if I do take a year off.