California Funding Issue for Internationals

mattcat

Hey folks,

I'm an international student looking to apply to American PhD programmes in philosophy. A friend who has already been through the application process has advised me: 'There are a whole bunch of good University of California campuses in great locations (UCLA, UC San Diego, UC Riverside UC Irvine) I got really excited about applying to them, but later found that they accept very few international students because we can never become state residents, and therefore the University loses out on state funding'

That looks like a reason to cross all grad schools in California off my list. Does anyone know more about this issue, or about whether it applies to other states?

Thanks in advance!

Your friend is right. I received a lot of the same advice from professors who worked at American (and Californian) universities when I was applying from Canada too.

However, I don't think this means that you should just go and cross them all off your list! It just means the UC schools will be extra competitive, so it would not be a good idea to solely apply to these UC schools.

Also, yes, this applies to other states too. In almost every state, the public schools will be affected in the same way. It's especially bad in the University of California system (and probably others too but I am less familiar with them) because of the nice location and the brand name, making it very popular with international students. 

Private universities do not have the same constraint though, as all students cost the same, whether they are in-state, American, or international. The advice I got was to apply to more private schools than public schools because I would be more likely to get into a higher ranked private school than a lower ranked public school. And the advice was right--I didn't get into any UC schools but I did get into some private schools!