Shouls I get a Master's in Public History and where?

EAJONES

Hellos all, I am looking into graduate schools/programs in public history and wonder what the current thoughts on the subject are. Main concerns: should I study public history and if so, where should I go?

I graduated with a Bachelor's in History with a minor in public history earlier this year. However, I learned little in the public history minor because it was one of the first students to pursue the minor. 

I want to get a Master's in history with a concentration in public history because I think that would make me marketable to become a researcher, archivists, or museum professional. Do you think I am on the right track of thinking?

I am looking into universities that are not too expensive because I do not want to have a tone of debt hanging over my head with this job market. I also would rather be a big fish in a small pond. I would rather get great recommendations from professors who know me personally and can hook me up with good connections than be a mediocre student at a great university. Once again, is this a crazy thing to think?

Public history programs (or related fields) I'm looking into are:

1.     Washington State University

2.     Middle Tennessee State University

Oklahoma State University

4.     Idaho State University (Historical Resources Management)

5.     University of Arkansas

6.     University of Northern Iowa

7.     Western Washington (Archives and Records Management)

8.     Texas State University

What do you all thing about the accreditation of these schools and about pursuing a degree in public history?

I appreciate your comments. Thank you!

Hello! I'm in my first semester as a Public History MA student.

First: If you want to work in those settings, then public history is the best route. Museum Studies can be too narrow (although they definitely have more of an art/art history focus).