Assigned paper topic at PhD level?

Still ignorant

So I am a first year PhD student in my first semester of coursework. I am taking a course in an area that is outside my discipline, and my professor has been very kind toward me for whatever reason.  She sees that I am enjoying the class but that it is not easy for me. I've articulated both in private and during class discussion about some of the methodological challenges that I'm facing. But she thinks that I am actually doing well based on our class discussions and some small assignments that we've done so far. 

Anyway, she knows that I'm struggling to find a paper topic, so she offered one to me that I might like. I am definitely thankful for her thoughtfulness, but what does it mean when a professor offers a paper topic? Does it mean that she doesn't think I am competent to come up with one on my own?

Incidentally, I came up with my own paper topic at the same time, but I don't know if it's a good one. I think hers will gain some traction as she mentioned that the ultimate goal of these papers is for journal submission, and she is one of the experts in her field. 

Should I just take her topic? Or would it be better for me to go with my own topic? Personally, both are very interesting so I don't have a preference. Hers will require much more work whereas I'm not sure if mine will be substantial enough for a full fledged journal article. But hers is basically an application of her dissertation, whereas mine would be a nuanced way of interacting with an ongoing discussion that seems to be reaching a scholarly (and, in my opinion, a myopic) consensus.

I mean, there are topics and then there are Topics. Is this a topic like "maybe think about the question posed by the juxtaposition of X and Y", or is this a Topic like "Read A, B, and C, then apply method D to primary source E"?