GRE AWA essay critique required

Laura Garnham

Dear all

I am taking the GRE in less than a month (and I did not even know of this tests existence a fortnight ago) and I really need someone to critique my essays. I have so far written 1 issue essay. This was done withing the time limit of 30 mins. I will paste it below. I would be so grateful if anyone could have a look at it and give me a score (and if possible some advice on improving). I'm sorry that I am a poor student and can offer nothing but my appreciation and happy vibes.

Thank you

Here is my essay

Title :All parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The idea that parents should be required to volunteer time to their children's schools is not a practical one. While initially it may seem like a good thing (the parents getting involved in the school community) and contributing to their children's education) in actual effect this rule could have a detrimental effect both on the parents, on the schools and consequently on their children.

First if parents are in full time work they may find it very difficult to find time in which to volunteer. The times at which the school is open and therefore able to take volunteers is the same time at which the parents will be expected in work. If the parents rely on a full time job in order to make enough money to support their family (money that will at least in part go towards their children's education) then their job will have to take priority over volunteering at their children's school. Of course some parents may be able to reduce their work hours but, as this is not an option for all, voluntary work at schools should not be required.