SOP: research interests for a non-thesis MA

Hi everyone,

I'm wondering how specific I should get for a SOP for a MA that does not have a thesis option in its curriculum. Writing about my research interests/past experience is a little hard for me to begin with, because I was a pre-med English student (focusing on creative writing also... not literary studies) with an Art History minor. I'm now applying for Media Studies. I have studied quite a bit of film theory this past year independently after graduation to buff up my background and my writing sample.

I do have some fairly interesting (I hope!) potential research topics that I'm talking about for my MA programs that require a thesis: code-switching in East Asian and Southeast Asian film. (Most of these programs I am applying don't have a person doing work specifically on Asian film but rather someone doing work on language/identity in film or world cinema more generally... which, I feel like for a MA is "good enough"...?)

But how much should I say for the programs without a thesis option? Surely, I can address my interests for term papers and things like that, but I don't want to come off like I don't understand how this program works. Also, should I avoid naming professors I'm interested in working with? I contacted 2 people at one particular program and got no responses (this was for a program that does require a thesis), so I'm giving up on reaching out. Also don't want to seem overzealous as only a MA applicant.

Thanks for all your help!