Intelligence Community (IC) Career Best Choice?

deopatriae

Hello everyone!

After long hours of research on this forum to help answer some of the questions I've been having, I thought: why not just post my questions here directly?  So here goes my first post!

First, some context.  It is my goal to work in the IC (CIA, NSA, Homeland Security) in the DC area.  To accomplish this, my top three choices are Columbia's SIPA (International Security Policy), Princeton's WWS (MPA), and GWU Elliott (Security Policy Studies). 

I have 8 years of working experience, 6 of which have been abroad (including my current position) in two different countries.  I have been accepted early action into SIPA (Fall 2016) and am quite confident about Elliott.  WWS is a toss up. 

I am originally from New York, so NYC would be very close to my parents and home.  This is a plus for SIPA.  However, I am hesitant to commit to SIPA after reading multiple (and I mean more than one) reviews criticizing SIPA for a litany of reasons on this forum.  These include, but are not limited to:

• Cost does not justify the rewards - whether this is in regards to employment opportunities following graduation or the lack of specialization in coursework someone like myself might seek
  • Class size is, generally speaking, larger than the other two schools mentioned
  • Stemming from this, lack of face time with professors
  • NYC can be a quite impersonal place to begin with - I know this firsthand
  • Employment opportunities in the IC coming out of SIPA are not as strong as WWS/Elliott.  This is what I am primarily concerned about.  NYC does not equal DC when it comes to the IC and so forth.