circumstances

tyedye

HI I'm a undergraduate student in my last semester  at ryerson university.  This is my dilemma, due to a disability that went undocumented in my first two years of study and then I had to take 2 semesters off due to this disability insurance have a low gpa and I want to apply for mpa/mpp programs carleton, Ryerson,  Queens ect. Due to my subscription 3.0 gpa do you think I have a chance and should  I put an explanation  of my personal circumstances  that affected my Academics  in my sophomore? 

• 2 months later...

I recommend working for a year or two within an NGO or public organization. See what the landscape is and find your interests.  Work experience helps when grades aren't great, and real world experience provides context that is not found in MPA/MPP courses. 

3 hours ago, WhatAmIDoingNow said:

I recommend working for a year or two within an NGO or public organization. See what the landscape is and find your interests.  Work experience helps when grades aren't great, and real world experience provides context that is not found in MPA/MPP courses. 

In addition to this, I would suggest taking relevant courses in public policy if you can through an online program, perhaps. Statistics, calculus, economics, etc. 

As for the application, consider including it in your SoP. I have seen successful SoPs that incorporate life experiences such as this to help make a point about how you are more concerned and motivated to better the world in some sense, and also how you have become more resilient and mature. It can be worked into your narrative, in other words, if done carefully and with humility. Your Letter of Recommendations can also help to make up for this: pick people who know you and your circumstances well and can vouch for your success moving forward.

Good luck!

Edited by goforthegold