Not your average "chances" thread

Anita

Hello Psychology posters!

The title is rather ambitious, it seems, but all it really means is that I don't know anyone else with a similar situation :| This is a looooong post, but I hope it's entertaining. If you feel inclined to respond, please do read the whole thing somewhat closely first, because I've tried to make all the info here count, and not having to clarify would save time for both of us :)

Sooo...I'm a senior at a very elite New England private liberal arts college. I'm thinking of grad school, and change my mind about it pretty much every other day depending on how I feel about my chances and the research process. The reason I'm so unsure is because my situation is pretty unique AFAIK. It got to a point where I found the career center and my own advisor to be of no help at all, and am hoping you guys would have better and more friendly advice :)

OK, so I'm an international student from SE Asia. English is my second language, but somehow I achieved near-perfection in it, according to people. Anomaly #1. This leads to a very high GRE score, again according to people (770M, 720V). Anomaly #2. I'm the only Asian int'l student I know who majors in psychology without any other, more "practical" backup major such as econ. Anomaly #3. Somehow, I kept screwing my psyc classes in my last 3 years at college, leading to a rather mediocre major GPA of around 3.4 (never bothered to calculate because it's depressing), and a cum GPA of 3.54. Keeping in mind my school has an insane grade inflation problem, especially the psyc department, so when I say my GPA is low, it really _is_ low. You won't find many foreign students, especially at a school like mine, who does such a mediocre job (got a C+ in stats, no kidding). Anomaly #4. Finally, not really an anomaly, but it does complicate things so I might as well mention it. I need a full ride at whatever school I'm going to. Neither my family nor myself can shell out a cent tow