GRE Advice...Retake?

mararum

I just took my GREs and got a 700 Verbal and 730 Math.

I don't know very much about the grad school application process; I graduated this past summer from undergrad, so there isn't any one I could really ask about this sort of information. I think I might want to look into Economics programs. Also, what type of schools should I be aiming for? I would love to go to University of Chicago or Columbia, but that seems extremely doubtful. There isn't much information I could find at the schools' respective websites either, which concerns me, as I have a 3.58 GPA.

All of my worst grades were in Economics, and I was under the impression that you need a pretty high gpa in the field of your study to be a competitive candidate for grad school. That, coupled with my Math score, leaves me with the impression that I might want to retake; I spent two or three weeks studying for the GREs, so I figure I should technically be able to improve with more time. I honestly don't know what I should do. My verbal score doesn't seem to be very helpful to me if I'm looking at Econ programs. I have research/internship experience and good LOR, but I feel that I'm not a very strong candidate with my background and this GRE score.

Anyways, I would really appreciate any advice that could be given.

Sincerely,

Utterly Confused

Let me preface this by saying that I doubt I know much more than you about the grad school application process, but...