MSW/PsyD/PhD

AshleyParis

I know this topic may have been discussed to death and I've looked at many threads on this...but still need some direction for my set of circumstances

a) career goals- all I want to do is talk to kids and help them through traumatic experiences.  

b ) I would like to do private practice

c) I LOVE to learn so length of time doesn't really matter to me.  

d) Therapy is my priority (being wtih the kids) but I do want a comprehensive look at how the mind works and to know more in depth about how trauma affects the brain etc. Testing would be cool too, but my clients are the priority for me, as well as flexibility (my dream is having a private practice)

e) I have debt from law school.  Debt sucks so this IS a concern but I'd rather be in more debt doing what I actually love.  I'm a public interest attorney with debt... I have no money anyway. 

f) Psyd v. Phd- I've heard that Psyd is more clinically focused so I'm drawn to that, but I heard that it's usually unfunded.  :/  Should I just give up the more comprehensive approach, avoid the GRE, and more debt and get an MSW?

Please please help :) I'm open to all suggestions.. going to law school was one of my worst decisions.  I didn't take time to think it through and ask enough people about the realities of it, so don't want to make the same mistake twice.  Thank you!

Speaking from the MSW perspective...