BS in IE to PhD in BME prospects

LizzyG

Hi, I'm currently a second year undergraduate at a public state school. I'm majoring in industrial engineering (ABET accredited). I will be participating in an engineering REU (biomedical focused) this summer and hopefully, I will be offered a slot in another REU/research internship for the summer of 2017. By the time I graduate, I will have completed an undergraduate thesis (required for graduation) in industrial engineering. 

If all things turn out well, I will have 3 strong recommendation letters from research professors by the time the fall of my senior year approaches.

Has anyone had any experience in getting your undergraduate degree in an engineering discipline that is different than your PhD engineering discipline? I'm not sure if applying to a PhD program in biomedical engineering with an undergraduate degree in industrial engineering will hurt my chances in admissions. I have taken a year of biology and one general chemistry course, and I'm not sure I have enough biology-related electives. Would you be able to recommend more biology/chemistry electives that would prepare me for a PhD in BME?

Are PhD BME programs typically funded? I know that BME is still a relatively new engineering discipline, so I am unsure if I am likely to be funded.

What schools (public US universities) would you recommend for an IE undergraduate from a medium-sized public school? My school is not particularly prestigious for engineering (famous for music and education) and I'm unsure whether or not the prestige/reputation of my undergrad institution will hurt my chances in admission.

Here is a list of schools I have been researching for PhD BME programs:

UT Arlington
UT Dallas
University of Illinois at Chicago
Colorado State
University of Minnesota
TAMU
University of Delaware
University at Buffalo

Does anyone have any experience or knowledge about these schools PhD BME programs?