Rhetoric and Composition Writing Samples

Hello there!

No, I'm not fashionably late to the fall 2016 application party. I'm here to pre-game for fall 2017.

What did you folks use for your R/C writing samples? I majored in English (linguistics) and economics, so I don't have a relevant piece. I'll likely either submit some underwhelming marxist lit crit or an esoteric and oh-so-terrible sociolinguistics essay. Likely dead in the water either way, but I'm leaning toward the former.

It seems like most of us weren't lucky enough to study the field during undergrad, so I'm curious how people handle the sample. (If you want, you can also advise me on my own situation.)

For my MA I used three pieces (depending on the requirements). I used a 10 page paper from an American Lit survey course that could have broadly be considered a rhetoric piece (but really was just comparing works from different authors), a 4-5 creative nonfiction piece, and a feature article that I had written for a journalism course. R/C programs know that most MA admits aren't coming from R/C undergrad programs (or even from English programs, from my observations), so they are looking for your ability to make an argument, organize you ideas, and write coherently. If you have teaching materials (if you've done any workshops, or undergraduate TAships) I would use them.

For an MA application, you're probably in the same boat either way. My feeling is that what makes apps stand out is a coherent narrative of who you see you are as a scholar or scholar-teacher. So, if you have no interest in applying work you've done in your writing sample to grad study, you will want to make sure you have that articulated especially well in your SOP and letters of recommendation.