Yale Book Review

tourist

Hi guys. So I have a question about this 2 page book review for Yale. I'm sure there's an older post about it, but I couldn't find it so instead I made a new one. Anyway, I have a review written already but it feels like I summarize too much of the book, and spend only 1 or 2 paragraphs at most answering the 'sweeping' question of how it's made the most impact on my writing. I have some experience writing book reviews (my thesis adviser used to ask me to review books I read) but I feel like this is slightly different. Any thoughts, suggestions, or ideas are welcome for those who have written it or are currently writing it. Thanks.

I have yet to do mine, although I already know which book I will write about. I would say you should try looking at some book reviews on Jstor to get an idea of how to structure your comments. I think that the purpose of this part of the application is 1) to prevent people from applying who aren't actually that interested in the program by adding more work to the application and 2) to get an idea of what kinds of things people read and find interesting. Advice I am giving myself for this is to be honest, and pick a book that I genuinely find to be quite interesting a well-written. You may not get much response to this post though, since everyone writing a Yale book review is in competition with one another for those coveted spots!

I am currently in the history department at Yale, and I have a few thoughts.

1) I think the faculty is fairly split on usefulness of this assignment. Some think it doesn't tell them anything not found elsewhere in the app, others like it.

2) Write about the book you most wish you had written (ie, one whose topic and methodology you enjoy/admire).

I don't remember the exact prompt. Are you just supposed to write a book review, or are you also supposed to discuss what your choice says about you as a historian?

Edited by historygrad