Did I aim too high?(MSc)

ev a.

I am a student who recently graduated from university with 3.95/4 CGPA, have an electrical engineering degree, taken 5 additional courses to my curriculum to be able to fill some gaps in my CS knowledge such as programming languages, data structures, algorithms and computer vision courses. I am assuming my LOR's are very strong, as I have done projects and helped further the research of the professors I have worked with and they seemed happy to write a LOR on my behalf.

I have applied to Machine learning and computer vision areas, and currently taking ML, neural networks and computational geometry courses in graduate level (i started as a "special admit" student to my current university to not waste time waiting a full semester --and god forbid, if rejected, it's a safety net: i still can finish my MS here in my hometown). 

I applied to Stanford, UT Austin, Illinois, Gatech and U of Toronto in Canada, and EPFL in Switzerland for a MS degree, mostly without financial aid as an option (no scholarships if admitted).

Two things bother me: As almost all the top CS students rush into ML and AI, I feel it is harder to get an admit from these top-50 schools, especially with insufficient backgrounds (no OS course or formal CS research as of application date --currently I am working on a project under my MS advisor here), and with a non-CS degree. 

Did I aim too high and let my ego get the best of me?

Thank you for reading.

Edited by ev a.

I assume you are interested in an MS and not PhD. If that is the case, why didn't you just apply for MS in EE? ML has very weak connection to CS compared to other areas. Much of ML is based on optimization and statistics which are integral to EE too. You could have just taken the appropriate ML electives and got away with an EE degree IMHO. This however changes if you want to do a PhD, in which case you should apply to the department of potential advisers.