Yet another SoP thread

Hi all,

I've done my GREs and chosen some universities, so that part is all going fabulously. The thing that is catching me up, however, is my SoP. This is my first time applying to American universities, so I'm completely at sea. I found some reputable advice online (including one site that told me it's the 'most important piece of writing you'll ever write'...thanks for that, no pressure then, eh?), but am still struggling to figure out what they're looking for. Would anyone mind sending me an example of a decent SoP or giving some tried-and-true suggestions? Of course I have no interest in plagiarism...if that worries anyone, I'm applying for English, so any humanity subject apart from that would be vaguely similar in style (or so I believe).

Hi all,

I've done my GREs and chosen some universities, so that part is all going fabulously. The thing that is catching me up, however, is my SoP. This is my first time applying to American universities, so I'm completely at sea. I found some reputable advice online (including one site that told me it's the 'most important piece of writing you'll ever write'...thanks for that, no pressure then, eh?), but am still struggling to figure out what they're looking for. Would anyone mind sending me an example of a decent SoP or giving some tried-and-true suggestions? Of course I have no interest in plagiarism...if that worries anyone, I'm applying for English, so any humanity subject apart from that would be vaguely similar in style (or so I believe).

I was a successful applicant in English last year, and I used the same template that I used for research grant applications.

1. Introduction of field: what time period, which authors, what focus, and why?

2. Research Questions: what questions are you hoping to answer with your research?

3. Literature Review: what has already been said? where are you intervening in the conversation? where are the research gaps?