University of Arizona Fall 2016 Season

Hello GradCafe!

I'm currently in my first year of the SLP program at the University of Arizona. I hear that the program recently sent out their admissions letters, so I wanted to make this thread to meet anyone who is thinking about/has accepted their offer to the UA. I'd also be happy to answer anyone's questions about the program, Tucson, or just grad school life in general!

Hope to see some of you in the Dirty T this coming August (or sooner, if you plan on visiting)!

Best,
Alexa

I already asked a few questions, but I thought I'd put them out here so other people can benefit! (I also had some additional questions that I've thought of, so I have ulterior motives.) Sorry in advance for the slew of questions!

1) What are the funding opportunities like and do they offer very many? Do they typically offer MS students TA positions or GA positions? Also, if I were to find a GA position with another department (like the bookstore), would I feasibly be able to put in 20 or so hours for that position? 

2) I expressed an interest in phonological disorders in children as well as bilingual language acquisition, which I'm still very interested in. However, I also enjoy learning about neurogenic language disorders and I might work better with adults than with kids. Is it possible for me to get placements in both areas?

3) How big of a role do faculty advisors play? If I chose one who has different research interests than my own, should I switch to a professor whose interests line up with mine?

4) This is along the lines of #1, but are you able to work part-time in this program? And if so, how many hours would you say you're able to put in?

And I think that's it! 

Also, do you have any insights into how the recent and ongoing reduction in state funding for higher education in AZ has affected UA and the program?

1 hour ago, glueear said:

How much do you and your peers pay for housing?

I'm living in Tucson right now!