Museum Studies program recommendations...?

deadparrot

Hi all.

I'm going to be graduating next spring (Class of 2008) with my B.A. in history, and I have a couple questions. I want to pursue a M.A. in museum studies in graduate school. Since it's a slightly obscure subject (at least compared to English, psychology, political science, etc.), I was wondering if anyone had some input on particularly good programs?

Some background: I think I'm a fairly competitive student...I go to a small state liberal arts university that is highly respected within the region for its challenging curriculum. I currently have a 3.92 G.P.A., and it should stay relatively high over the next year, as the most challenging part of my academic curriculum will be over after this semester (next year is mostly a matter of applying to graduate school and jumping through hoops for graduation). I was recently invited to join Phi Kappa Phi, an academic honor society open to only the top 7.5% of the junior class. I've worked as a student research assistant for one of my history professors for the past year (my duties included editing a manuscript of oral history interviews for her upcoming book), and I'll probably be doing an (unpaid) internship this summer at the Missouri Historical Society while working my regular job as an usher and tour guide at a local theatre. I test well, and I'll definitely log some study hours before tackling the GRE, so I don't think that should be a huge problem.