What Now?

ResIpsa

Hey all, just discovered this site today and am looking for advice on what to do to get on the path towards a classics PhD.

Graduated from Ivy cum laude in 2007, major in history, minor in art history. GPA around 3.7. I discovered classics pretty late in the game and completed 4 terms of Latin. I also worked as a research assistant for a year for a professor in the history department translating and analyzing a 13th-cent. French manuscript written in Latin. So realistically, I had 6 total terms of Latin (this amounts to either 3 years or 2 years depending on who you ask -- the school is on quarters). I received all As and one A- in the Latin work. Most of my art history work was in roman and byzantine art and presumably could have been cross-listed with classics. I also took a few non-translation classics courses but ended up being one course short of the minor because I started so late.

Since graduation I have worked in an unrelated field, and am currently in a professional school that I don't really like. I know that I want to go back to classics and am kicking myself for not having recognized that upon graduation. In my case, it took a wrong turn to make me realize what I really want to do.

SO...I'm assuming I will need to do post-bac first. I have no Greek. What are my options, and will I be competitive? If I were to do the Penn post-bac, would taking the intensive beginner summer Greek and the intensive intermediate summer Latin get me up to speed? Is it even advisable to take those courses concurrently? Would someone in my position benefit from 2 years of post-bac? What is the state of PhD admissions for someone with my credentials (assuming completion of post-bac)?

Thanks for the help!