Publishing an undergrad paper?

I have been considering trying to submit one of my undergrad papers to a history journal. I won an award for it and was told by a professor that it was a potentially publishable paper, but it would need a lot of work - this was mentioned a little while after I graduated. I was pretty burnt out from school at the time, so I didn't really work on the paper, but now I'm considering trying to get it to a publishable quality. Should I maybe contact my professor and ask if she could help me with this? I feel like this is a bit of a last minute project, considering I would be starting grad school in a few months, so I don't know if it's worth going to this trouble or if I should just wait until I have a Master's level paper to publish. I've been trying to fix the paper up on my own but I find it really difficult to judge my own work and find others better at pointing out flaws than I am. I'm just wondering if anybody has done this successfully (I am sure this is more common in the sciences but I don't know of many History undergrads publishing papers.)

I published a paper I wrote for an equity in education course from undergrad. My professor suggested the journal and it didn't need much work after peer review. A lot of people say you shouldn't rush your first publication, but I don't think there's any harm in publishing a paper in a decent journal. At the very least, fixing it up will get you back in the Groove of school. If you want to get in touch with your prof, perhaps ask which journals they might suggest and you can see where it fits in. Plus, you can always cite yourself in your course papers - like a real academic!:lol: