A non-Sociology background in Sociology grad programs?

FentonForche

Greetings all. I was wondering if people familiar with the academic climate of Sociology might help me out. Here's my situation...

I'm interested in returning to complete my PhD. Generally, I'm interested in politics and religion, so I suppose that would put me in the 'Sociology of Religion' subfield...The last time I took a Sociology class, I was an undergrad. I didn't major or minor in the field. Here's my academic background:

BA, Political Science and Philosophy, 2000

MA, Political Science, 2005

MBA, 2008

Obviously, I've bounced around quite a bit. The more I research programs, the more I am considering Sociology as the best field for me to move into rather than Political Science or Religious Studies. Does anyone know if Political Science is treated as enough of a cognate discipline that I wouldn't be discriminated against too much? Or am I looking at a lot of remedial work before becoming a legitimate candidate?

Also, generally, how competitive are sociology grad programs relative to other disciplines? I don't sport the kind of credentials a lot of people on this forum have...I think my GREs were 630v/770q, with a 6.0 on the analytical writing--but that test is so old I'll surely have to retake it. I think my GPA was a 3.8 as an undergrad, a 3.9 in the MA program, and a 3.7 in the MBA program (hey, they grade harder over there).

I've never published anything, and my recs would probably be decent but not from anybody famous. When I went through the PhD application process with Poli Sci, I was summarily rejected from the top 10 programs: Mich, Berkeley, Princeton, Wisconsin...I think Chapel Hill rejected me too. Then I got in to the mid level schools: Washington, Texas, Maryland, Florida.

I wouldn't be shooting for the moon in sociology either.

Greetings all. I was wondering if people familiar with the academic climate of Sociology might help me out. Here's my situation...