Prospective PhD Student-

n081280m

Hey everyone,

I just found this resource. So far it has been extremely helpful!

I am graduating next year from Ohio State (one year early) with a dual degree in Sociology (Honors Research Distinction) and Strategic Communication with a minor in professional writing. My GPA will more than likely be a 3.7 or 3.8. I have some research experience already and I am doing more this year (hopefully getting published). I also have some pretty strong faculty contacts so letters of recommendation are looking good.

This summer I am doing a research fellowship and getting paid to complete my senior honors thesis. I will also be studying a lot (probably taking a prep course) for the GRE and taking it at the end of the summer (September/August).

I am looking for programs that first and foremost, fully fund their graduate students. I care very little about perceived prestige, but I know that the stronger programs are more likely to provide full funding. My research interests are sociology of culture (youth culture and aging specifically), online social media, qualitative methods, death and dying, and social psychology.

Any advice as to applicable programs?

Hey everyone,

I just found this resource. So far it has been extremely helpful!

I am graduating next year from Ohio State (one year early) with a dual degree in Sociology (Honors Research Distinction) and Strategic Communication with a minor in professional writing. My GPA will more than likely be a 3.7 or 3.8. I have some research experience already and I am doing more this year (hopefully getting published). I also have some pretty strong faculty contacts so letters of recommendation are looking good.

This summer I am doing a research fellowship and getting paid to complete my senior honors thesis. I will also be studying a lot (probably taking a prep course) for the GRE and taking it at the end of the summer (September/August).