Honors Program?

Tamim

I am a community college student that will be transferring to CSU Fullerton in the Fall of 2010 going for my bachelors in English.

My question is whether or not it is worth putting in the extra effort to complete the schools honors program?

My ultimate goal is to get into a PhD program and imagine if I were to get my bachelors degree with honors my GPA would be slightly lower then if I were to get it without the honors. progress.gif

Any advice would be much appreciated, thank you.

I am a community college student that will be transferring to CSU Fullerton in the Fall of 2010 going for my bachelors in English.

My question is whether or not it is worth putting in the extra effort to complete the schools honors program?

My ultimate goal is to get into a PhD program and imagine if I were to get my bachelors degree with honors my GPA would be slightly lower then if I were to get it without the honors.

Any advice would be much appreciated, thank you.

Yes. Do it. I have several reasons why you should!

1. Opportunity for more research and/or more independent research

2. Opportunity for more rigorous study, which is neat

3. The opportunity to "test" if you can hack it doing intensive work in an English program (an undergrad honors program is going to be nowhere near as difficult or demanding as a PhD program, so if you're overwhelmed or hate doing your undergrad honors program, you might want to rethink grad school in English). This is why I applied for and entered my undergrad's honors program, and it was a very revelatory experience for me.