Russian Studies

Hey Guys I know I might be a bit out of my league here but I was reading a few posts hoping to get advice. I am currently an undergrad majoring in History with a minor in Political Science, and recently chose to focus my studies on Russia. The college I am at does not have a strong Eastern European field and seeing how I have chosen that path I am trying to do the best I can with what I have. I am a sophomore and have applied to study abroad in Russia starting next fall, I have applied to a program in both Saint Petersburg and in Moscow and would love any advice in choosing which city/university to attend. If anyone has studied at either St. Petersburg State Polytechnic University or Moscow State University or know about life in either city any information would be great. I would love to be able to hear about life in either city from a college students perspective; foreign student or not. Obviously insight on how life will be for an American female is my main goal, but learning how Russian students view study abroad students or anyones personal experience would be beneficial. I will be the first from my college to go to Russia to study so the information I have is very limited. I have looked at information from both programs and there just seems to be very little information about Russian Studies majors. I was hoping to come here to get advice from people in or entering Grad School because I will soon be on my way there and would like get a head start in learning about where my interest in History/Russia/Political Science could take me. Seeing how every action and decision I make now will affect my future the best people to get advice from are the people who are going through it themselves. I have such a strong passion for Russian Studies and it seems where I am there's very little knowledge and even interest in my chosen study. I would simply love to learn and socialize with people who have my same interest and passion for Russian studies and find