Request for GRE Issue Essay Evaluation

sdfiguer

Hello everyone! I am currently studying for the GRE through Magoosh and I just wrote my first timed issue essay. Any critiques/score estimates would be well appreciated! Of course, I expect some errors...I tried my best to leave the essay "as is" after the 30 minutes were up. 

In this age of intensive media coverage, it is no longer possible for a society to regard any living man or woman as a hero. 

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The media holds an overwhelming presence in society. We wake up to the sound of a news broadcaster reporting on a terrorist attack overseas, we drive to work listening about the Icelandic woman who harbors Syrian war victims on her own financial accord, and we often spend minutes throughout our day reading various articles about everyday citizens performing impossibly selfless and heroic acts. Even so, such a saturation of media coverage is not necessarily beneficial. Present-day society can no longer appreciate nor properly recognize heroic acts due to media-caused desensitization.

Public school teachers are a prime example of those who perform heroic tasks by enduring long hours, low pay, and a severe underappreciation from their community. Elementary, middle school, and high school teachers are martyrs to the field of education due to these three aforementioned factors. The media may cover a story on a teacher who moved to a third world country to educate homeless children, however, the media may never cover a story of an average high school teacher who lives pay check-to-pay check in order to educate the youth of their community.