Suspending PhD foot Residency? Has anyone done this?

IlliniAggie

Hi All, 

I apologize in advance for the story.  Context is everything, of course.  

New poster here.  I am a veterinarian by training who took an opportunity to pursue a PhD at a top tier institution.  It has been a struggle, as prior to this I came from an almost purely clinical background, and had only limited experience in bench research prior to this.  The experience so far has been suboptimal, and I have dealt with the common psychological problems that seem to go with grad school, but started seeing a therapist and taking care of myself better mentally, which has helped.  Still, I have issues with my mentor, who is a prominent figure in his field, a powerful figure at the university, and who is paying my tuition (my entry into the grad program was unique; I came in on a postdoctoral fellowship for veterinarians which covered salary, but not tuition costs). The faculty member I initially had identified as a potential mentor bailed on me when the department said I could enroll in the program under the condition he covers the cost of tuition.  I ended up with my current, very well-funded mentor as a result, and he currently pays my tuition.  I did not get to rotate, and I did not feel this lab and level of mentorship would be a good fit for my needs, but I made the Faustian bargain of joining it in order to get into the PhD program.  The result of this arrangement is that it is not practically or politically easy to change mentors, though it could probably be done if I raised enough fuss, but I'm frankly not keen on doing that.