Transferring/Switching PhD Program

P0lsc1

Hello folks,

I'm an international Pol. Sci. student and this idea has been on my mind for awhile. I'm currently enrolled in a PhD-track program with a MA en route, however, it's my first year and If I wanted to make this move it's better to start now earlier.

My justifications for the deferral are as following:

1- I am sponsored with a very competitive scholarship that requires an admission. If I did not accept my offer (my current program), I will not be having my current competitive scholarship, If I waited for another program to admit me other than my current one and then to apply next year to my scholarship, I will never guarantee it, it could be as well impossible to obtain due to competitiveness. I was obliged to get it, with all available options whether I liked or disliked. This is why I had to pick my current school.

2- I wanted to switch because aside from not feeling that I fit the program, rather, the school itself has a very little number of international students, this, appears to me that causes several things:

A- Professors, as far as I came across are less understanding of being an international student and not a native speaker. They expect you to be just as good as your fellow native speaker mate.

B- The school is not diverse. I never thought that this would be a critical factor in the beginning, until I saw and experienced it by myself in my school, while visiting another school -I'll call it X' (Admitted to its MA program but did not enroll) which has a lot of international students and it really feels more 'welcoming'.

C- Although my school, I shall call it 'Z', is an-okay one, well-known but not an Ivy League, but has other disadvantages such as its location.