Lets talk about brexit

Ralf3000

Question

Hi,

I'm currently a BA student of social sciences in Germany and was planning on applying for MA programs in the UK (most likely LSE). However, since the UK decided to leave the EU, I have heard and read some things, that make it seem less appealing to apply to UK schools. For example i heard that there is sort of a "leaving the sinking ship" dynamic going on among faculty at UK departments. I have also heard that the UK is being cut out of a lot of colaborative EU funded research projects. My eventual plan is to continue into a PhD program and do research. I was wondering, how Brexit may affect my study experience and then also my academic path in the future, if i decide to pursue studies in the UK. I understand that the answer to this questions depends in part on the yet to start negotiations between the UK and the EU, but I have to make this decision now, and I feel, a lot of other prospective grad students might be in the same situation. So lets discuss!

What are your thoughts on this?

1 answer to this question

I'm in a slightly similar boat, though possibly a less stark change post-Brexit then you, if anything. I'm looking at applying to US and UK PhD's, and pre-brexit would have probably said I slightly favour UK over US (shorter program, closer to home and the parts of the world I want to work in, etc,) but post-brexit that's actually reversed. I'm only applying to a few that-would-be-a-dream-school programs in the UK and casting a wider net in the USA instead. I've heard a couple of horror stories about being an international student in the UK, and it looks like it will only get worse. As an EU student, what would have been a fairly straightforward process may become a horribly convoluted and uncertain one, depending on how negotiations play out.